Doctoral Supervisors

Professor Paul Gibbs

Higher Education, Philosophy of Education, marketing of Higher Education Email: p.gibbs@mdx.ac.uk

Dr Leena Robertson

Multilingualism and literacies; socio-cultural theories of learning; critical ethnography; minoritised groups in schools and early years settings; teachers’ pedagogical innovations and social justice. Email: l.robertson@mdx.ac.uk

Dr Lee Jerome

Citizenship and civics education, human rights and children’s rights education, history education, teacher education and professional education more broadly, curriculum policy, teacher agency. Email: l.jerome@mdx.ac.uk

Dr Alex Elwick

Education policy; the Prevent duty/countering violent extremism (CVE) in education; higher education. Email: a.elwick@mdx.ac.uk

Dr Victoria de Rijke

Children’s literature and the visual or avant-garde arts; the picturebook; metaphor in literature, arts and education practices; primary English teaching; teacher education. Email: v.derijke@mdx.ac.uk

Dr Mona Sakr

Social justice in early years; digital pedagogies in early years or higher education; childhood art; play and creativity; early years workforce development, including leadership development. Email: m.sakr@mdx.ac.uk

Professor Jayne Osgood

Early childhood education/early years, professionalism, policy, gender, feminist new materialism/ post humanism, critical approaches, cultural studies of childhood. Email: j.osgood@mdx.ac.uk

Dr Phil Barter

Technology enhanced learning, Progression, Achievement, Students’ learning environment, E-learning, Blended learning. Email: p.barter@mdx.ac.uk

Dr Nathan Fretwell

Parents, parenting and education; education policy and social justice; genealogies of education, schooling and the family; educational activism; alternative and radical education. Email: n.fretwell@mdx.ac.uk